Active Clinical Trials

Laser Ablation of Abnormal Neurological TissuE Using Robotic NeuroBlate® System (LAANTERN) Prospective Multi‑Center Registry

Study Overview:

LAANTERN is a prospective, multi-center registry that will include data collection up to 5 years to evaluate safety, Quality of Life (QoL), and procedural outcomes including local control failure rate, progression free survival, overall survival, and seizure freedom in up to 1,000 patients and up to 50 sites. The study is currently enrolling eligible patients who would like to participate.

Study Device and Procedure:

The LAANTERN Registry will use the NeuroBlate System, a minimally invasive robotic laser thermotherapy tool that uses MRI-guided laser energy to ablate brain lesions.

With NeuroBlate, the surgeon attempts to ablate (destroy) lesions, or abnormal tissue, in the brain.  Unlike traditional brain surgery, a procedure with the NeuroBlate System does not require a large opening in the skull.  Instead, doctors create a small hole in the skull, about the diameter of a pencil.  While the patient is in the MRI machine, the doctor guides a small laser device (probe) through the hole into the lesion.  The probe delivers laser light energy that heats and destroys the affected tissue.  Because the NeuroBlate System is MRI-guided, the neurosurgeon is able to visualize the specific area of the brain to be ablated.  The precise nature of the procedure helps to lessen the likelihood of harm to nearby healthy tissue.1

Study Eligibility:

You may qualify to participate in this study if you are planning to undergo the NeuroBlate procedure.

You may be a candidate if:

  • You are undergoing thermal therapy with the NeuroBlate System.
  • You provide written authorization and/or consent per requirements.
  • You are available for the required study follow-up.

To take the next step, please contact a study center for more information. Only a study doctor can decide if you are a candidate for the study.

Study Purpose and Follow-up:

This Registry is intended to further understand the performance and utilization of the NeuroBlate System in current standard of care and will collect baseline, procedural and follow-up data. If you qualify for the study and you decide to participate, you will be provided with questionnaires to complete after your procedure and you will have more contact with hospital staff regarding your well-being. Visits to the clinic will be done on an as-needed basis and as recommended by your doctor.

Find a Study Center:

Arizona

Barrow Neurological Institute at Dignity Health St. Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center
Phoenix, AZ
Site Principal Investigator: Kris Smith, MD
Contact: Odilette Trevizo, RN, CNRN
+1.602.406.1463
Odilette.Trevizo@DignityHealth.org

California

University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Site Principal Investigator: David Piccioni, MD
Contact: Lara Rose
+1.858.822.6575
ljrose@ucsd.edu

Connecticut

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Site Principal Investigator: Veronica Chiang, MD
Contact: Judith Hess
+1.203.737.6259
judith.hess@yale.edu

Florida

Advent Health Orlando
Orlando, FL
Site Principal Investigator: James Baumgartner, MD
Contact: Brooke Hartwell
+1.773.316.1514
brooke.hartwell@adventhealth.com

Kansas

University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Site Principal Investigator: Patrick Landazuri, MD
Contact 1: Lindsay Richardson
+1.913.574.0412
lrichardson5@kumc.edu
Contact 2: Catherine Lauridsen
+1.913.588.4573
clauridsen2@kumc.edu

Kentucky

University of Louisville
Louisville, KY
Site Principal Investigator: Joseph Neimat, MD
Contact: Anna Williford
+1.502.852.7402
anna.williford@lousiville.edu

Norton Cancer Institute
Louisville, KY
Site Principal Investigator: David Sun, MD
Contact: Debbie Ritchey
+1.502.446.8544
debbie.ritchey@nortonhealthcare.org

Minnesota

University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Site Principal Investigator: Clark Chen, MD
Contact: Clark Chen, MD
+1.612.624.8117
ccchen@umn.edu

Children’s Hospital St. Paul
St. Paul, MN
Site Principal Investigator: Joseph Petronio, MD
Contact: Katherine Ingram
+1.612.813.6329
Katherine.Ingram@childrensmn.org

Missouri

Washington University
Saint Louis, MO
Site Principal Investigator: Albert Kim, MD
Contact: Robin Haverman
+1.3143747.1624
havermanr@mir.wustl.eud

New York

New York University Langone Medical Center
New York, NY
Site Principal Investigator: Sylvia Kurz, MD
Contact 1: Malcolm Delara
+1.212.263.4414
malcolm.delara@nyulangone.org
Contact 2: Ankeeta Joshi
+1.212.263.4431
ankeeta.joshi@nyumc.org

Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY
Site Principal Investigator: Constantino Hadjipanayis, MD
Contact: Ryan Adams
+1.212.241.8349
Ryan.Adams@mountsinai.org

SUNY Upstate Medical University
Syracuse, NY
Site Principal Investigator: Zulma Tovar-Spinoza, MD
Contact: Sean Huckins
+1.315.464.8477
huckinss@upstate.edu

North Carolina

Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
Site Principal Investigator: Peter Fecci, MD
Contact: Tammy O’Brien
+1.919.660.9329
tammy.obrien@duke.edu

Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Site Principal Investigator: Stephen Tatter, MD
Contact: Courtney Wimberly
+1.919.681.9607
courtney.wimberly@duke.edu

Ohio

University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
Site Principal Investigator: Andrew Sloan, MD
Contact: Karen Devine
+1.213.368.0076
karen.devine@uhhospitals.org

Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, OH
Site Principal Investigator: Alireza Mohammadi, MD
Contact: Teresa Allison
+1.216.444.6459
ALLISOT@ccf.org

Pennsylvania

Geisinger Medical Center
Danville, PA
State Principal Investigator: Michel Lacroix, MD
Contact: Chelsie Derr
+1.570.214.2432
cmderr1@geisinger.edu

Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA
Site Principal Investigator: Kevin Judy, MD
Contact: Jaime Dougherty
+1.215.955.7962
Jaime.Dougherty@jefferson.edu

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA
Site Principal Investigator: Taylor Abel, MD
Contact: Madison Remick
+1.216.407.1651
mar355@pitt.edu

Tennesee

Saint Thomas West Hospital and Research Institute
Nashville, TN
Site Primary Investigator: Steven Abram, MD
Contact: Margaret Serfass
+1.615.222.3852
mserfass@ascension.org

Texas

MD Anderson
Houston, TX
Site Principal Investigator: Ganesh Rao, MD
Contact: Carmen Jacobs
+1.713.745.3246
cjacobs@mdanderson.org

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Site Principal Investigator – Kalil Abdullah, MD
Contact: Hayyan Yousuf
Hayyan.Yousuf@UTSouthwestern.edu

Study Shows Seizure Freedom for Most Epilepsy Patients with Minimally Invasive Laser Ablation Procedure

Monteris Medical Announces the Publication of Positive Clinical Data for its NeuroBlate® Laser System for Patients with Brain Metastasis

Monteris Medical Reaches Milestone of 2,000 Patients with NeuroBlate® System

Disclosures

Monteris provides technology for neurosurgeons, which allows them to ablate (destroy with lethal heat) from the inside, brain lesions and brain tumors that may be difficult to approach via traditional methods. Technology includes the NeuroBlate System, AxiiiS, AtamA, and MiniBolt devices, which may be used together to apply the focused laser energy with little or no effect on surrounding healthy tissue. The NeuroBlate System provides clinicians a tool that offers near real-time control and MRI visualization of the therapy during laser ablation treatment.

All brain surgeries carry risk. Possible adverse events include, but are not limited to, hematoma, embolic events, edema, bleeding, cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) leakage, infection, unintended major tissue damage and permanent neurological deficits. Prior to using these devices, please review the Instructions for Use for a complete listing of indications, contraindications, warnings, precautions and potential adverse events.

Rx Only.

  1. Rennert RC, Khan U, Bartek J, et al. Laser Ablation of Abnormal Neurological Tissue Using Robotic Neuroblate System (LAANTERN): Procedural Safety and Hospitalization. Neurosurgery. May 2019. doi:10.1093/neuros/nyz141